Back to the Grind

October 4, 2010

A Fine Grind

Today is the first day of my new job – back to professional attire, healthy packed lunches and structure. I do like me a little bit of structure. My new position will be a great professional challenge, eventually to be filled with exceptional pastries and top notch coffee.

One of my favourite smells in all the world is freshly ground and brewed coffee. It’s both comforting and exhilarating, wouldn’t you agree? I love my morning coffee so much that sometimes, most times, I start looking forward to it the day before. Like last night, knowing I would be enjoying my coffee with the much-missed Parkside Runners. This morning was a reunion of sorts, and a simultaneous calming and revving of the nerves through conversation and caffeine. Oh yes. I’m back. And feeling inspired and determined, professionally and personally. I’m super excited about the following: new job; fitness and nutrition potential; a select few new articles of clothing; the fall and crunchy leaves; baking cookies for new and old friends (and family – my dad, mainly, as he’s an oatmeal raisin cookie fiend); stews; rain boots; cashmere; making kimchi; cosy evenings and cold dark mornings; writing new recipes; wooly scarves; halloween with its tricks and treats. I had to end it there, to be reasonable. There’s so much to look forward to. But, first, back to work. Back to reality.

8 Responses to “Back to the Grind”

  1. pamela said

    Welcome back! Good luck with the new challenges but respect your limits:)
    P.S. You make autumn sound so awesome.

  2. katie said

    OOOOH I love fall…now that I have FINALLY accepted that summer is gone. Glad you are feeling so postive and inspired…! Have a great first day..

  3. Kat said

    Congrats on the new challenge! I heard through the grapevine… have a fabulous first day, you will ROCK it!

  4. jevanshead said

    Yay Dawne-O

    Happy for you and your new challenges. Ummm…You are a Canadian Blog Award Nominee and you didn’t even tell me????

    Wow this is fantastic!!!

  5. katie said

    Canadian Blog award nominee??? Where do we vote???

  6. Jen said

    Congrats Dawne! I can hardly wait to see what’s in store for you. Ummm….details on the nominee status please!

  7. Miki said

    Dawne,

    Just catching up on Baker’s Balance and saw the Cdn Blog Awards 2010 ~ How do I vote you?

Leave a Reply

