Procrastination

September 2, 2010

Cocoa and Adzuki Bean Cake

Last weekend I decided to rearrange our kitchen. And it’s still undone. Once drawers were emptied I pondered the value of useful versus stupid. For example, a Starfrit apple cutter and corer. There’s a slim possibility that I might use it, but I would first have to remember that I own it. And that begs the question, why do I own it? I think someone gave it to me, unloaded it from their own crowded kitchen drawers. Should I remember that I have a stupid Starfrit gadget in my possession, I would have to find it. It dawned on me that drawer organizers and dividers would improve my life. So I went shopping. While I was out and about I decided to visit the lovely new Chanel khaki nail polishes. Yes, you’re right, the Chanel boutique is nowhere near the drawer organizer store. Never mind my upside down kitchen, I’m now on the waiting list for all three shades of polish – vert, rose and brun. I can’t decide. I also found a new pair of rubber rain boots and I love them. My last pair are several years old and it was time to update. I’m wearing my new boots now. And I’m going to create and bake a new chocolate banana bean cake while wearing them. Which is simply another form of procrastination. You might think that I would put my kitchen back together first, but you’d be wrong. My thinking is this: I will organize while the cake is in the oven. That’s the most efficient use of time, isn’t it? Once I tuck the kitchen neatly away I’m going to move on to my clothes closet. I am one of those people who puts away spring and summer and lovingly unfolds fall and winter. I love knits and wool and cozy coziness, and I’m looking forward to fall and shades of glossy khaki polish. And oceans of rain so that I can wear my new boots.

Cocoa and Adzuki Bean Cake – Makes two little 3″ x 5″ loaves or 24 – 2″cupcakes

1 1/2 cups of cooked adzuki or black beans, or use canned

2 ripe bananas

3 tablespoons of coconut oil, melted and slightly cooled

1/2 cup cocoa

1/4 cup ground almonds

2 pinches of sea salt

3 tablespoons agave

3 eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350. Place cooked or canned and drained beans into the bowl of your food processor and whir until they’re blitzed into a smaller size. Add ripe bananas and whir a little more. Add everything else and process to a not-too-smooth batter. Scrape into prepared pans, fill more than 3/4 full, and bake for approximately 45 minutes for loaves or 25 minutes for small cakes. Tops will spring back a bit when lightly pressed. Remove from oven and allow to cool before unmoulding. These cakes are dense and super moist, I think you’ll be pleased. If you like, for a little refined sugar, melt some dark chocolate, about 1/4 of a cup. Stir really well and glaze cakes, either by spreading the loaves with an offset spatula or dipping the tops of the small cakes.

6 Responses to “Procrastination”

  1. jevanshead said

    Pffft I’ll take the apple corer back and I am returning the Slap Chop I bought you immediately.

  2. Jen said

    I have an egg slicer from the Japanese dollar store. The packaging reads “slices egg best in sixth place”. Admittedly, I bought it for the bad English and it still gives me a chuckle.

  3. Debra said

    Wow, this brought back memories of a cake I used to make with black beans. Beans and chocolate in a cake, what a combination! The ground almonds are also a great addition.

  4. pamela said

    Are the boots as great as the St. Malo white ones? Or the clogs? I had to pick up a new pair as well and was wearing them with shorts against my bare legs, ah… to be 6 years old.

Leave a Reply

