Serve Myself

July 1, 2010

July 1st

With a dramatic amount of sadness I have decided to leave my job and today is the first day of my joblessness. Or I should say the first day of the rest of my life. What is the matter with me? I should be so happy. Instead of dwelling on all I am leaving behind I should and will think about what lays ahead. I don’t know what that is yet. There is a good chance that I might get to keep a great and material aspect of my job, which I’m super happy about. If it pans out it will allow me to see all the people that I’ve grown exceptionally fond of so I won’t have to miss them. It’s interesting and a little bit creative and involves things and I love things. I will have more time to bake and cook and blog. I am going to France with my longtime and dear friend Pam – what fun! Just writing that fills me with envy, but then I remember that it’s me going. I think I might start assembling a healthy cookbook. I will see my family and friends more. The usual blah blah blah I’m going to eat better. But it’s true. There is so much I want to do, more than this. I know you don’t feel sorry for newly unemployed me, I just wanted to update you if I haven’t already. Onwards. And Happy Canada Day.

20 Responses to “Serve Myself”

  1. Debra said

    France will be fun. Will you continue to blog while in France? I’d love to hear all the details of your culinary adventures. . .

  2. Heather said

    Dawne, your blog is amazing! I’ve looked at it about 3 times a day since you have told me about it. It’s going to help me a lot in the up coming month, and much into the future.

  3. Rosemary said

    Yet another exciting chapter aof your life waits you!!!

  4. Rosemary said

    Typing pre-coffee is not a good thing! What I meant was: Yet another exciting chapter of your life awaits you!

    • dawnegourley said

      I totally knew what you meant. Thanks Rosemary. I can’t wait for evening walks with you and Berger!

  5. katie said

    I love things too!! But I really love that you got jealous of yourself going to France….and I EXTRA love that you will have more time to visit (and eat!) with me!!

  6. Fionna said

    Ahh, always mixed feelings, isn’t it? Well, I am happy for newly unemployed you and all your gutsy adventures coming up. Keep that camera clicking and the stories coming! xoxo.

    • dawnegourley said

      Mixed feelings for sure Fionna. But, as a few days have passed, an unmixing of sorts is taking place!

  7. Jen said

    Onwards and upwards to amazing you!

  8. Jen said

    And more time for FRIENDS! Yaay.

  9. diane said

    Yet another fork in the road (get it!) I was telling Mike last week that you should put some cookbooks together, your pictures, great recipes and ease with words are so refreshing that it’ll be a best seller for sure!
    good luck to you and I look forward to following your blog through France

    • dawnegourley said

      Diane, I love a fork in the road. Even when, maybe especially when, it’s one I’ve placed myself. To continue the parallel, I feel as though I have set a table for a dinner party and I’m waiting to see who RSVP’s. Have I gone too far with the analogy?

      • diane said

        no not at all! If you invite, whether it’s a book or blog etc. I’m sure we’ll all be there with bells on and empty plates for your recipes to fill! The world’s your oyster!

  10. Jack and Miranda said

    Jack and I are sitting here after debating whether or not we should go to Italian Kitchen for their Pasta Tuesdays or if we should stay home to eat the adobo he made. Adobo wins.

    “I am going to France with my longtime and dear friend Pam – what fun! Just writing that fills me with envy, but then I remember that it’s me going.” This line should win blog line of the year.

    We miss you and love you and can’t wait to make you your cappuccino (although it’d be me making it, not Jack..unless you want a Starbucks cappuccino…….oh, it’s okay. He’s not looking.)

    Check your gmail for shopping tidbits!

    Love,
    Jack and Miranda

    • dawnegourley said

      I’m so lucky to be missed and loved and cappuccino’d. I would like to be adobo’d, too. Promise to be in soon. Great shopping tips Miranda.

Leave a Reply

