Avocado Green

June 17, 2010

Half a 'cado

Avocados smack of the 1970’s to me. It seems that in the 70’s there was a lot of avocado around. Avocado appliances. Avocado pits sprouting in glass jars with murky water. Avocado shag. I think we’ve all heard of how healthy avocados are, how they’re packed with healthy fat. Here’s a simple recipe for guacamole, multiply it as you see fit. You can never have too much guacamole, right Julie? The guacamole in the photo below was made by Julie. I think she used 16 avocados.

Makes about 1 1/2 cups

3 ripe avocados, halved and pitted – I find it best to buy avocados bullet hard and ripen them at home for a couple of days, it works beautifully

1 tablespoon of minced red onion

juice of 1 lime

small handful of chopped cilantro

2 tablespoons of salsa, optional

a pinch or three of sea salt

Mash all ingredients together with a fork or a potato masher. Taste. Adjust seasoning and taste again. Sometimes I add a pinch of cumin, sometimes I don’t.

Guac.

5 Responses to “Avocado Green”

  1. Jen said

    Most likely the best guac I’ve ever had!

  2. Nate Furler said

    I stumbled upon your site and I must say that your photos are some of the BEST food shots I have ever seen. I work in the natural food industry and have seen my share of photos. These are exquisite! Any chance that I could use them for marketing purposes – advertising, newsletters, etc?

    Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading more of your blog!

    Best,
    Nate
    njfurler@hotmail.com

    • dawnegourley said

      Hello Nate, I appreciate your inquiry on using my photos. I have to say, while I’m flattered at your compliments, I must say no. I would consider if you send me some more information on what you’re using the photos for, and if you’re able to give link backs and credit. Thank you.

      • Nate said

        Hi Dawne,

        I do graphics and marketing for a food co-op and am always looking for great photography to use in our newsletter, ads, and store signage. I am more than happy to give you credit for your photos anytime they would be used. Once again, great pics. Please feel free to email me off-blog.

        Best,
        Nate

  3. Hi Dawne,
    You’ve won my Sonia Rykiel cardigan (I announced a week or so ago in my comments but not sure you’ve seen.) Could you let me know your address and I look forward to getting the little sheep over to you.
    Best,
    Ellen x

Leave a Reply

