Sunflower Sprouts

May 27, 2010

Super Sprouts

I often buy sunflower sprouts at the market, and I’m thinking about growing them myself in a jar or shallow tray of soil. They are loaded with vitamins and minerals, and pack a surprising dose of protein. In fact, 3 ounces of sunflower seeds contain about 20 grams of protein, almost the same as chicken. Isn’t that interesting? They taste rich, crisp and nutty. I’m going to pick up some raw sunflower seeds this weekend and sprout them. I’ll keep you posted.

3 Responses to “Sunflower Sprouts”

  1. Jack said

    dawne. i just want you to know that i secretly stalk you on this website. i hope to see you this weekend and life is well for ya. check out my pics from my trip.. i ate alot.

    • dawnegourley said

      Jack, you’re back! There must be a clever sentence with your name and been/bean stalk/ing but I can’t assemble one. I’m so looking forward to seeing you soon and talking about some of that food you’ve been eating. Impressive.

  2. Jack said

    oh dawne.. you and your clever ways! you must have thought of a clever sentence by now. i’m doing a catering thing till tomorrow night and then i should be free for the rest of the week. we should plan something out! hows everything for you and what have you been doing?

Leave a Reply

