Sunshine Halibut

May 3, 2010

A Sunny Bowl of Poached Halibut

So, the fact of the matter is, my brother is a great cook. We come from a family of eaters. We have appetite. I think that when you like to eat, when you really in italics like to eat, you are graced with a natural ability to cook well. It’s instinctive and distantly related to hunger. Now, don’t start filing my brother into the category of a refined gourmet, that’s incorrect. There is not much refined about him. And gourmet? Hmm. If you believe that there is fine food to be discovered in gas stations across North America then my brother, by your definition, is a gourmet. He would argue that he has a refined palate. But he argues a lot.

This all goes to say that about a month ago, my brother made this dinner for our family. And it was everything that I like eating these days – it’s fresh, clean, simple and, most favourably, speedy. You will like it a lot. You might be so impressed that you will take his recommendation on food that is sold only in gas station convenience stores.

Serves 4

4 pieces fresh halibut, about 6 ounces each

sea salt

1 – 236 ml bottle clam juice (I didn’t even know this existed until my brother poached halibut in it. The only ingredients in it are clam extract and salt.)

fresh steamed vegetables such as carrots, zucchini, asparagus, potatoes (I had purple potatoes rolling about my fridge)

1/2 bunch parsley, chopped

lemon wedges

Like I said, this is so easy. Prepare some steamed vegetables, cook them until they are bright and crisp and set aside. Time it right with poaching the halibut so everything is ready at the same time. Pour out the clam broth into a medium-sized skillet. I never say skillet in real life. Turn heat on to high, bring the liquid to a simmer. Meanwhile, season the halibut with sea salt. You could pepper it, too, but I didn’t feel like seeing black bits of ground pepper on the white of the halibut. I considered, briefly, using white pepper. Turn the clam juice down to a simmer and place the halibut in. Cover and poach for about seven minutes or so. Halibut is a quick-cooking fish so take care not to overcook it and dry it out. That’s it. Arrange fish, veggies and potatoes in a shallow bowl and spoon some of the poaching liquid over. Garnish with chopped parsley and a sunshiny wedge of fresh lemon. If you’ve seasoned the halibut with enough salt, the broth will be perfectly flavourful. If you went a bit scant on the salt, make sure to bring the shaker to the table with you.

6 Responses to “Sunshine Halibut”

  1. katie said

    mmmm…gas station halibut….

  2. James said

    Dawne,
    FYI – there also exists in the range of canned clam products “Clam Nectar”. I know this because, back in the day, I coerced my friend, Ian (the guy who you tease about eating really slow), to drink a can in high school.
    Love James

  3. jevanshead said

    hmmm…I really (in italics) like to eat. Guess that makes me a good cook to huh?

  4. Debra said

    I just have to say that if you want to enjoy a meal in a gas station restaurant, check the restrooms first and if they haven’t been cleaned in decade, there’s a good chance the kitchen that serves your “meal” hasn’t either. . . .

  5. Ken said

    Hello Dawne; as you know many years ago I had a seafood only restaraunt call the “HOOK LINE&SINKER” with S Kare. I used creme mixed with the clam nectar (fresh) for a similar dish. Fantastic!!!

Leave a Reply

