Savoury Rhubarb Compote

April 15, 2010

pinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpinkpink

I want to holler this, with caps lock on and in bold: RHUBARB! It’s spring time, it’s rhubarb season, and that makes me happy. There are so many rhubarb things that I want to make and bake. But first, before the sweet onslaught of crumbly, gluten-free rhubarb muffins and sticky, vanilla-flecked compote, I must insist that you make this. Oh my God, it’s good! It will make your mouth water as it bubbles, and your whole house will be enveloped in a sharp tang of rhubarb. I have tweaked, just slightly, a recipe from Simply Bishops, by John Bishop and Dennis Green. In their cookbook they suggest that you have this with roasted salmon. And you should, but don’t stop there. Try it with grilled chicken or pork. Or whisk it with a little olive oil, sea salt and pepper for a smart and pretty vinaigrette. It’s really good with cheese. I know that’s not clean eating, I’m just saying. It’s really good with cheese. Happy spring!

Makes about 2 cups

1/2 pound chopped rhubarb, about 8 not too big stalks

1 shallot, peeled and chopped

1/2 cup rice wine vinegar

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup agave

1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated

pinch of sea salt

Place all ingredients in a little, not too little, saucepan. Turn heat on to medium, bring to a simmer and reduce heat a bit. Cook for several minutes, until rhubarb and shallots have softened. Allow to cool and then puree in a blender. How delightful is that pink? Nothing short of perfect and blushing. Enjoy!

simmersimmsersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmersimmer

5 Responses to “Savoury Rhubarb Compote”

  1. You make rhubarb seem absolutely dreamy! I love your photos. I made a rhubarb-pie cherry crisp recently with pie cherries from my freezer and the flavors were so amazing, I can’t wait for pie cherry season to pair them again.

  2. Jen said

    MMM, yes, thanks Dawne, I love rhubarb with savoury.
    …and oh, and such a nice use for your cherry blossom mold!

  3. Ken Gourley said

    One of my favourite FRYING PAN PIES! or just (simmered for awhile) Yummers!!!

Leave a Reply

