Pep Talk

March 22, 2010

I need a pep talk. My eating needs to be cleaned up, it’s a mess. I can hardly blog. My energy level is all over the place, up and down. My fortune cookie from last night reads “Make up your mind and do what you want to do.” Yes, that’s right. The meal I ate last night ended with a fortune cookie.

I have to decide to eat well, consistently. Not erratically. I might go through my blog over the next few days and take some of my own advice, make some of my own recipes. I have a few favourites to revisit. There are some foods that make me thrive, and increase my energy. I must spend some more time with the Parkside Runners. The list of what I want to do is long, and it begins with clean eating.

I challenge you to join me in eating spotlessly clean for the next three weeks. We can do it. Yoda says “Do or do not. There is no try.” I’m going to listen to him and my fortune cookie. Are you in?

24 Responses to “Pep Talk”

  1. I love this post. I fall off the healthy eating bandwagon a little too much for my own good too. I will certainly join you and eat healthy for the next three weeks. Thanks for the inspiration. BTW my favorite salad is thinly sliced fresh kale, avocado and a lemon vinaigrette.

  2. Jen said

    Thanks for the pep talk. I’m in.
    PS – I especially like the part of your plan that involves spending more time with the Parkside Runners.

  3. court e nay said

    no more sugar buns for me. More time with parkside runners my year keeps getting better and better I am in for the 3 week challenge. We love clean eating it is great and makes us smug!!!! I love to be smug let the challange begin

  4. Jen said

    Dawne, I am with you!

  5. jevanshead said

    I’m i….

    Ohhhh

  6. katie said

    I’m with Jay….ha ha!
    No really…I bought a notebook to start my food journal today…I have a very selective memory when it comes to what I eat (mm..nope, don’t seem to recall putting back that bag of mini eggs..)…need to have it in print to remind me (and shame me!) into eating better… Thanks Dawne! You rock!

  7. Julie said

    I’m in! Depite what my mom might say.

  8. suzanne said

    As I am reading the comments I noticed one of the Parkside runners has not accepted your challange, thats because she it upstairs eating Subway and a fountain pop.

  9. Melody Wey said

    What a refreshing posting, thanks for sharing. I’ve been a reader for a while now and am looking forward to revisiting some of your favorite recipes too.

  10. James said

    Not to be too nerdy here, but as this was just the topic of conversation two minutes ago in the office (really!), this ask yourself: what, in any of the five movies he showed up in, was Yoda ever right about? Especially in the prequels, he’s pretty consistently wrong about everything, so much so that some have speculated he’s really a Sith lord himself, working to distract everyone else and keep them off balance, and that Obi-wan and Anakin secretly team up to bring down BOTH the emperor and Yoda at the same time in a thirty-year undercover op….

    None of which is a reason to not, you know, eat right, but maybe use R2 as your moral guide….

    • dawnegourley said

      Not too nerdy, hm? R2 speaks in blips and whistles. Luckily, I’m fluent. Plus, R2 is aging better than Yoda. Good advice, James.

  11. Ellis said

    uum… is the King Crab feast considered healthy eating?

  12. Cole Ole said

    Are you talking to ME?

    I feel reinspired by your post and it came just in the nick of time. I started clean eating again just this morning, as I was starting to feel hungry at 9AM wondering what CRAP I could eat…I clicked on your blog and there it was..AHHHHHH
    I was back on track.
    Now it has been 21 hours and I am ‘IN’

Leave a Reply

