Mustard Yellow

February 25, 2010

Moutarde!

Happiness to me is mustard. I love mustard. It’s a happy condiment, no? Unlike soy sauce, which is dark and serious. And salty. I can take or leave ketchup, I know that’s an unpopular opinion. It’s not that interesting to me. Relish, though, relish is good fun. Tiny confetti of pickle. Though I just got up to check my fridge and I don’t even own any relish. But mustard! I decided to make mustard, and it was so easy and tangy with the right amount of cheeky heat that I thought, why haven’t I made mustard before?

Makes about 1 cup

2 tablespoons yellow mustard seed

2 tablespoons brown mustard seed

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon water

1 tablespoon dry mustard powder

1 teaspoon turmeric, optional

1/4 teaspoon agave

a pinch of sea salt

Soak mustard seeds overnight in vinegar and water. I covered mine and left it at room temperature. The next day just turn everything into your blender and buzz it together until it’s emulsified and kind of creamy. It’s quite hot and snappy at first, but mellows after a few days of cooling in the fridge.

2 Responses to “Mustard Yellow”

  1. Julie said

    Yum! I can’t wait to try this.

  2. court e nay said

    who knew it was so easy can’t wait to try it yum yum

Leave a Reply

