All Day

January 14, 2010

Crock Pot Beans

Crock Pot Beans

Ha ha – look what I made yesterday while I was at work! My mom and dad gave me a Crock Pot and I’m quite excited about it. I’ve only made two things so far, these delicious beans and a beef stew over the weekend, which was just okay. The beef stew needs some tweaking. But these beans were delish. I cannot tell you how great it was to walk in the door after work and have dinner (almost) ready. Some planning is in order as the beans must be soaked overnight.

Makes about 8 cups

1 pound pinto beans, soaked in cool water overnight at room temperature

2 onions, chopped

1 large tin of tomatoes

3 cups water

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon hot smoked paprika

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon cayenne, optional – I like it hot!

2 1/2 teaspoons sea salt

1 1/2 cups frozen corn

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 ripe avocado, cubed

At this point your beans have been soaked overnight. Drain, rinse and put in Crock Pot. Put everything else except for the corn, cilantro and avocado into Crock Pot. Also, maybe don’t add the cayenne yet, stir it in after you’ve tasted the beans, they might be spicy enough for you already. I set the Crock Pot for a 6-hour cook on low and then went to work. As busy as I am, I thought of my beans several times throughout the day. I really wanted to be at home, incessantly peeking at them. And checking. Checking to make sure that there was enough liquid, that they weren’t getting scorched. But they were fine! When I came home I immediately went to check on them, I stirred them and hemmed and hawed. They were a bit too liquidy. So, still in my work clothes, I dumped the beans from the Crock Pot into a large pot and put it on the stove over medium-high heat. I pureed some of the soup with my immersion blender. That made for a better texture, it made it a bit thicker. It was a bit of a splattery endeavor in a nice outfit but I had been (bean?) waiting all day! Do you like the spiciness? Or perhaps you’d like to add the cayenne? I must admit, I did add a little more salt. I’m a saltaholic. I finished by stirring in the frozen corn kernels and cilantro, garnishing with the avocado, changing into comfy clothes and retiring to the sofa, dinner and good book in hand.

Pinto Bean

5 Responses to “All Day”

  1. court e nay said

    those look so good. I am sure I don’t have a crock pot in my trunk, I must go get one, so I can make these. mmmmm they look so good

  2. Jen said

    This is the perfect dish for a cozy winter night.
    Are you sure you don’t have a crock pot in your trunk Courtney?

  3. James T said

    I have had a crock pot for probably 20 years now – they last forever. I may even have another in storage…I will save it for you court e nay! Great for stewed meats or small pulled pork – just brown it first and throw it in and wash your hands of it!

  4. Julie said

    I heart my Crock Pot immensely. It was a ferocious fight getting it into the house (someone thought we didn’t NEED a Crock Pot) and well worth the fight. I can’t wait to try this recipe. Looks and sounds DEEEE-lish!

Leave a Reply

