Turkey Soup

December 28, 2009

Turkey Barley Soup

To The Rescue

This blog is making a hypocrite out of me. When I’m eating well, I’m very very good, and when I’m bad, I’m a disaster. In the last many weeks I have reverted to some of my old ways, and I’m consuming an almost steady intake of chocolate and sugar. I truly feel terrible. I’m cranky, and I keep crashing from the sugar ups and downs. Stupid holidays and sugar plums. To help me help myself, I made stock from the leftover turkey carcass, and then made this vegetable-laden, barley-speckled turkey soup. It’s lean and hearty. It’s rescue me soup.

Makes lots

3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 medium sized onions, peeled and chopped

3 stalks of celery, diced

3 carrots, diced

6 cloves of garlic, minced

2 teaspoons sea salt

12 cups turkey stock

1/2 cup pearl barley

4 cups leftover turkey, shredded

1 bunch parsley, chopped

freshly ground pepper

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat and add onions. Sauté for two minutes and add celery and carrots. Cook for another couple of minutes and then add the minced garlic and sea salt. Stir and cook for another minute or two, until garlic cooks a bit and releases its pungent smell. Stir in barley and stock and heat to a gentle boil. Lower heat, stirring occasionally, and simmer for about 45 minutes, or until barley is tender. Stir in shredded turkey meat and chopped parsley. It’s a lot of parsley, and will lend the soup a clear, green brightness. A lot of parsley is good right now, it’s good for you and loaded with antioxidants. Good for combating the ravaging effects of sugar. Hopefully. Oh, don’t forget to stir in the freshly ground pepper.

One Response to “Turkey Soup”

  1. Mimi said

    Sometimes all it takes is a good dose of nutrients to get you back on track!

    Watch out, blogging will biteya! I claim to want to eat healthy too but then I’ll look back at my last few posts and think, what have I done!!

Leave a Reply

