Sunday Morning

December 14, 2009

Unpuffy Pancake

Back in the day I would make puffy pancakes quite regularly. A puffy pancake, sometimes called a Dutch Baby, is made from a simple, loose batter. You slide this unpromising batter into a hot oven, and it bakes up into a buttery, crisp and majestic wonder. I was out in the early morning frost yesterday for an invigorating run with the always amazing Parkside Runners, and came home determined to make Michael and I a puffy pancake. Let me tell you, puffy pancakes freak Michael out, he loves them so much! As I read through my recipe, my determination wavered. I realized that I might be able to clean up the recipe and make it gluten-free, wheat-free, refined sugar-free and dairy-free. Plus, if it was clean, it had potential to be Baker’s Balance blog-worthy. I swept aside my crestfallen Michael and proceeded. The results were a bit deflating: this cleaned-up pancake refused to puff. I concocted one recipe and then another. The results were quite tasty, but lacking in the puffed-up drama of puffy pancakes past. I realize now, as I’m writing this, that clean-eating has had the same effect on me as this pancake: neither of us are puffed. Do not be deterred by the lack of rise, this is a yummy panful of pancake for a Sunday morning.

Serves two

1/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon xantham gum

a pinch of sea salt

2 tablespoons agave

2 large eggs

1/2 cup almond milk

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 tablespoons coconut oil

Pre-heat oven to 425º. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together brown rice flour, cornstarch, xantham gum and sea salt. Add agave, eggs, almond milk and vanilla extract. This will whisk up into a runny batter, so loose that it might have you wondering if you mis-measured. You have not, in all likelihood. Set a 9″ or so cast-iron or stainless steel pan over medium heat on top of your stove and add the coconut oil. Let it melt, swirl it around and up the sides of the pan. Pour your runny puffy pancake batter into the middle of the pan and let it sit, without stirring, on the stove for about one minute. Remove from heat and slide into your hot oven. Bake for about twenty minutes, or until (un)puffed and golden. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Sunday Morning”

  1. court e nay said

    i am sorry i missed the run and the puffy pancake hope to invite myself over in the new year for pancakes

  2. katie said

    what if you whipped the egg whites and folded in? Would alter the texture but would probably give a bit of puff…I am just picturing Micheal’s crestfallen face….first no perogies and then no puffy pancake… It does still look all fried and delicious in that coconut oil…yum.

    • dawnegourley said

      That’s a good idea, Katie. Although puffy pancake is one-bowl and so easy, it’s regretful to have to bring out the mixer.

Leave a Reply

