Brown Bag

November 30, 2009

Snack Time

Lunch Time

I have been pretty good at maintaing a mainly healthy way of eating at work. It’s been kind of easy because we had an amazing cafeteria full of fresh food – from lots of salads, vegetables and fruit to delicious, not-so-healthy hot food like lasagna and a parade of endless cakes and sweets, which I rarely made eye contact with, fyi. As of today, that’s all over. We have moved to a new and fancy and still-under-construction location and staff meals are going to have to wait. So I’m going to brown bag it. If you have some recommendations, let me know. I just made some bars, and I have packed some fresh vegetables. And leftover soup to reheat. What else? Please send me some recommendations. I am determined not to fall into the habit of going for lunch everyday, followed by a late afternoon coffee. Well… the coffee’s negotiable. I know if I keep eating well that I can make it through these busy months at work and maintain my energy and positivity without flagging. Some of you are expert lunch-packers, so share your knowledge. Or your lunch!

10 Responses to “Brown Bag”

  1. Dad said

    Here is my 2 bits: buy a large turnip, cut it up after peeling it – the pieces should be no smaller than one half inch square, length not a concern. Divide into 5 packages, one for each workday. You can munch on them all day long. My dentist is amazed what this does for my teeth & gums. You may find this a sort of an acquired taste, but give it a chance.

  2. june said

    It sounds really silly but make an extra dinner portion the night before but DON’T bring that to work the next day…bring it the following day (Monday’s extra is lunch on Wednesday etc). This will make sure that you don’t get bored eating the same thing for dinner and lunch too close together.

    good luck!

  3. Jen said

    As I “brown bag it” daily, these are a few things that work for me:
    – Getting creative with leftovers (as per June’s post)like cooking an extra piece of protein for next day’s lunch and pairing with soup or salad.
    – Hardboiled eggs
    – Your bars (of course)
    – Fruit salad (make a sizeable batch and portion off to grab & go)
    – Mmmm Soup (You can pull from the freezer in the AM and it will be defrosted by noon to pop in the microwave)

    Being so creative, I can imagine you will have a gourmet “brown bag” in no time. Don’t forget to share your ideas with us!

  4. jevanshead said

    Oh Dawne-O this is easy!.You go to Wal-Mart, make a B-line for the frozen foods section. Peruse until you find the Michelina’s® individual meals. They’re just like your Mamma made, there website says they are commited to incomparable quality and convenience, and that it can be found in every meal. Even better they only cost one dollar and………………..

    J/K. Really I just wanted to comment on Brian’s comment. Brian the turnip growers should hire you in their marketing department, “Turnip, Dent-a-bone for humans” =;)

  5. Kat said

    Ok, I have been packing my lunch for 15 years. This is going to sound boring, but I love it so much I have it everyday.
    1 big salad with walnuts, dried cranberries, crumbled feta cheese, shredded chicken breast on a bed of baby spinach. Top it with 2 tbsp of raspberry dressing.
    snacks are onion soup mix stirred into non fat sour cream or non fat yogurt to dip carrots, radishes, broccoli, mushrooms and cucumber.
    Even one day a week is yummy, I just find it easier to make the same thing everyday, no thinking involved!

  6. dawnegourley said

    Thanks for all the ideas! Jay, just wondering, are Michelina’s in the clean-eating category?

    • jevanshead said

      Dawne-O, Mamma would be so offended that you would even pose this question.

      Honestly I have partaken in one of these gems and not only are they not clean, I’m not positive the pasta is actually pasta.

  7. Dad said

    Kat I did not see turnips on your list of veggies.”givegive turnips a chance!”

  8. Kat said

    “Top it with 2 tbsp of raspberry dressing.
    snacks are onion soup mix stirred into non fat sour cream or non fat yogurt to dip carrots, radishes, broccoli, mushrooms and cucumber and turnips!”
    😉

Leave a Reply

