Ready for Bread

October 21, 2009

Warm Banana Bread

Warm Banana Bread

We all have bananas that, before you know it, are speckled and tired-looking and ready for bread. I concocted this healthy recipe for my friend Julie, as per her request. I see Julie every morning – we run*, Crossfit, and visit farmers markets together. Good grief, there are not many people I like to see everyday! That says a lot about her, and I’m lucky to call her my friend. She is witty, kind, sincere and sarcastic in equal measure. I know that every morning, without fail, she will meet me at 6:00 for a tough workout. There has been the odd time, literally once or twice, that we’ve gone for coffee instead of exercising. When you meet Julie you will be surprised that this slim chick can do a full pull-up, hanging from a bar like a monkey – it is so impressive and no easy feat. It’s not surprising that Julie likes banana bread, is it?

Makes 1 – 8.5″ x 4.5″ (6-cup) loaf pan

3/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup almond flour

1/4 cup ground flax

1/2 teaspoon xantham gum

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

2 large eggs

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

2 over-ripe bananas, pureed

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/3 cup almond milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Pre-heat oven to 350º, line a loaf pan with parchment and set aside until batter is ready. In a large-ish bowl combine all of the dry ingredients and whisk to combine. In a smaller bowl, whisk eggs with melted coconut oil, and then whisk in the banana purée, agave, almond milk and vanilla. You know how this is done – pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix with a spatula. Pour into lined loaf pan and slide into warm oven for about 50 minutes. A bamboo skewer will emerge cleanly when it is done. If there are wet crumbs clinging to your skewer continue baking for another five minutes, that should do it. Let cool on a rack for as long as you can before cutting yourself a nice, warm, thick slice.

Note: you can make muffins instead. I added 1 cup of frozen blueberries to the batter. It made 12 medium-sized muffins and took about half an hour to bake.

Ready for Bread

Ready for Bread

* Julie is yet another amazing Parkside Runner. Julie, I will always be there for you at the 20k mark!

7 Responses to “Ready for Bread”

  1. court e nay said

    julie is like banana loaf, wierd.
    I can’t wait to try this recipe looks great

  2. Julie said

    *Sniff* I think this is the best post ever. Thanks Dawne!

    PS… This banana loaf is amazing!

  3. Jason said

    Ha!!..”speckled and tired-looking and ready for bread”

  4. Cari said

    My son can’t have egg. Do you suggest ground flax+hot water, applesauce, potato starch or avocado as a replacement?

    • dawnegourley said

      Hi Cari. I think ground flax and water might be the best replacement. I would have to try the recipe first with this substitution to see if it gives proper rise and texture. And to see for myself if it tastes good before I commit. If you try it before I do, let me know your results.

Leave a Reply

