Bar One

August 24, 2009

Plain and Simple

Plain and Simple

Finally I have concocted an easy, energy-filled, raw, portable bar. Sometimes when I’m out and about I become ravenous. I usually have snacks with me – dried fruits and nuts or a bought bar, such as a Lara Bar. Taking my cue from the short ingredient list on Lara Bars, here is my version. I anticipate this being Bar One. Meaning I will use this as the basic recipe to create some other flavours. You could do the same, no need to wait for me. I think the next one will probably be a Sour Cherry Cocoa Bar.

Makes 4 – 6 cm x 4 cm bars

15 dried dates

1/2 cup whole, raw almonds

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut

1 tablespoon coconut oil

pinch of sea salt

2 teaspoons hemp seeds

You need a food processor for this. If you don’t own one, I ask you “Why not?” They are affordable and you can buy a small one that doesn’t take up too much space. Place dates in a small bowl and cover with hot, boiling water. Let soften for about five minutes. Meanwhile, put almonds, coconut, coconut oil and sea salt into the bowl of your (new?) food processor. Drain water from dates and add. Now all you need to do is process these ingredients until they form together into a soft ball. It takes a couple of minutes, check it here and there. It will be chunky and rather loose at first. Keep processing, the ingredients will lump to one side of the bowl, then it’s done. Don’t process more than this or you will create a greasy mixture. Turn your lump onto a piece of parchment and, using a ruler, press into a long 4 cm x 24 cm bar, making it as square as possible on all sides. Finish by sprinkling the top of the bar with the hemp seeds and portion into four 4 cm x 6 cm bars. Too fussy, squaring up the sides and such? Then divide up the batter and roll into four spheres and finish by coating with hemp seeds. I individually wrapped mine and I’m storing them in the fridge. I don’t know if I necessarily need to store them in the fridge, but it’s not going to hurt. They firm up quite a bit, enough so that I can tote them around in my bag and they won’t fall apart like I tend to when I’m hungry.

7 Responses to “Bar One”

  1. Julie said

    I have been waiting a LONG time for this one. I can’t wait to give them a try. These are sure to be better than all of those commercial bars. Bar none.

  2. JenG said

    Delicious morning treat today…thank you. And you’re right…why don’t I own a food processor?

  3. Julie said

    Jen – I think it’s because your good friend Courtney carries one around in her trunk for you. Why clutter your counertops and cupboards when you can have one on-call?

  4. JenG said

    Well said Julie…I knew there was a reason! I may have to commission it again soon to make these bars.

  5. Cole said

    OMG….Ok so I made them tonight…DELICIOUS DELICIOUS DELICIOUS…Good job Dawne!

  6. Jonine said

    Absolutely, yummy!

Leave a Reply

