Grilled Salmon with Daikon

August 21, 2009

Coho with Daikon

Coho with Daikon

Michael, my husband, was lucky enough to go fishing in the Queen Charlotte’s where he caught spring and coho salmon, and some halibut. My favourite way to eat salmon is with grated daikon, my second favourite is miso salmon. Let me tell you a little bit about daikon. Daikon is a long, unassuming-looking Chinese radish. It resembles a large white carrot and is the most popular vegetable grown in Japan. It is so pale-looking that you might not give it a second glance. But, when grated, it releases a bit if heat and a peculiar odor. Peculiar in a good way. It will have you glancing around your kitchen, wondering what smells. Sometimes the most delicious things to eat are also the stinkiest. Think of smelly cheese and pungent truffles. Daikon is one of those things. It is SO good with salmon. I don’t think I’m overstating this. Here’s what to do.

Serves 4

1 filet of salmon, skin on, about 1 1/2 pounds

1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil

a pinch of salt

1 daikon, about the size of a large carrot, or even larger, peeled

2 green onions, chopped

some tamari soy sauce

As much as possible, I cook fish outside on my gas barbecue. So, turn your barbecue on.* I usually grill everything on high, lowering the temperature as needed by lifting the lid. I’m impatient and I think fast, hot heat is best for most things – slow-cooked pork butt is an exception. As an aside, you might like to know that I am renowned for my butt, but that’s a recipe for another blog. The old me would have had a dirty-eating blog called Baker’s Imbalance. Where was I? Your barbecue is heating. Lightly olive oil the top side of your filet ‘o salmon, and sprinkle with a pinch of sea salt. Lay your salmon flesh side down on the grill, and cook for about five minutes. Meanwhile, using the finest holes on a box grater, grate your big daikon into a bowl. Grate the whole thing, the bowl is necessary because the daikon will release a whole lot of liquid. You can tip off most of the liquid into the sink. Don’t get distracted by your large, smelly daikon, go turn your salmon 45º so that you create appealing diamond-shaped grill marks. Cook for another couple of minutes and then flip over onto a serving platter. Serve salmon topped with daikon, green onion and a little bit of tamari soy sauce. SO GOOD!

Daikon

Dai (Large) Kon (Root)

* You can still make this even if you don’t have a barbecue. Pre-heat your oven to 425º. Line a baking sheet with tinfoil and lay your salmon flesh side up, skin will be against the foil. Again, lightly olive oil and sea salt the salmon and slide into your hot oven. Cook for 7 – 10 minutes. Now your kitchen will smell like fresh roasted fish and grated daikon.

2 Responses to “Grilled Salmon with Daikon”

  1. Julie said

    I can’t wait to try this. I have been feeling a little bored with my old salmon recipes. Maybe I will root around at the market for a little Daikon.

Leave a Reply

