This Poem

August 19, 2009

Poetry

Poetry

This is kind of cheesy of me, but I was wondering if you know this poem? It has stuck with me for years, I like it so much. I’m not the type of person who knows poems, not really. Just snippets and bits. Funny, but I always pictured the plums in this poem to be those dusky bluish-purple ones. Prune plums. Probably because they littered our lawn, so many we didn’t know what to do with them. But these ones, so vibrant and almost florescent! And dripping with sweetness. These ones are irresistible.

This Is Just To Say
by William Carlos Williams
I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold
5 Responses to “This Poem”

  1. Jason said

    Ahhh.. Nice Dawne-O. I know I don’t often comment on your photographs but I have to say this one is stunnnnning!.

  2. Julie said

    WCW is lucky he didn’t eat my breakfast plums. This would’ve been the last poem he ever wrote. Great photo Dawne and a lovely poem. Just lovely.

  3. Ellis said

    I love it! Beautiful picture.
    The poem makes me laugh! 🙂 I am going to use it next time I ate Josh’s snacks:
    I have eaten
    the burrito
    that were in
    the icebox
    Forgive me
    they were delicious.

  4. katie huitson said

    HA!! The comments today are as good as the post!

Leave a Reply

