Kale Chips

August 4, 2009

Freakishly Delicious

Super Delicious

I think you will love these. They are, as captioned, super delicious. Kale, when olive-oiled and sea-salted, bakes up into fragile chips that shatter delicately and saltily between your teeth. Addictive. They are a cross between potato chips and nori, roasted Japanese seaweed. Love love love kale chips.

Makes – not enough

1 bunch of kale

2 – 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

sea salt

Pre-heat oven to 275º. Brush each leaf of kale with olive oil and sprinkle with a little sea salt. Repeat with each remaining leaf. The bunch of kale I used filled two half-sheet pans, which I lined with parchment. Slide into your oven and bake for 20 – 30 minutes. Check them after 15 minutes, rotating from back to front and top to bottom. I must give credit and blame to Katie for insisting that I make these, and to Andrea who made them first. You won’t be able to stop eating them until they’re all gone.

7 Responses to “Kale Chips”

  1. courtney said

    they go really well with the super yummy veggie burgers.
    I am all the sudden hungry

  2. Ellis said

    back in the days when I work as a cook, Kale is considered as “garnish” leafy, never good enough to be included in the menu. who would’ve known a decade later kale becomes such a super star veggie and now it’s status is elevated into healthy snack! woo-hoo! I’m munching on some right now. So good and so clever, Dawne! you da- bomb!

  3. katie said

    these are the type of things that you think to yourself “oh I’ll just make a big batch of these so I can snack on them all week..”….and then oops…1 hour later you’ve eaten the entire pan…

  4. june said

    tried these tonight…yummy to be sure; but I think that I used a bit too much olive oil.
    We’ll give them another go on the weekend. Did you brush oil on both sides or just one? silly question I know but mine are really quite oily!

  5. Victor said

    I make KALE pizza and BBQ Kale etc
    This is our beloved Kale looks like
    or lets say what it looks like
    growing your chips in the organic garden 🙂
    http://visualsenses.smugmug.com/Nature-in-its-many-splendors/My-KALE-forest-and-organic/13595110_UkFxW

Leave a Reply

