Freaking! Fudgesicles!

July 30, 2009

A Freaking Fudgesicle

Reason to Freak

You need to make these. Like, now. Or at least today. You will thank me. They’re close to being nutritious. This icy cold frozen scrumptious chocolate-y treat is just a freeze away. I’ve been meaning to make these for a while now, but I cannot find my super awesome Tupperware popsicle molds that my favourite sister* Colé gave to me. I gave up and used mini silicone muffin moulds, which were a gift from my charming and generous friend Ellis. Evidently, I’m always accepting gifts. The mini size is probably better. They are a perfect two-bite fudgesicle that will whip you back to your childhood, lickety-split. They have just the right chocolate flavour, a bit of creaminess and that sort of low-quality but desirable iciness that is usually only found in cheap fudgsicles made with crap ingredients. They are also a perfect pop-the-entire-puck-in-your-mouth-size, too. If you’re the childish and piggish sort.

Makes 24 mini fudgesicles

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup water

4 large egg yolks

3 tablespoons agave

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

teensy pinch of sea salt

Pour the almond milk and water into a small pot and bring to a simmer over medium-low heat. In a medium-sized bowl, set on top of a damp cloth to keep it from moving, whisk eggs yolks together with agave, cocoa and sea salt. Remove hot almond milk from heat and whisk a ladleful into the yolk mixture, whisk immediately and efficiently so that you don’t end up with bright yellow bits of cooked yolk. Then pour in the rest, whisking to combine. Turn custard back into the pot and place over low heat. Stir constantly, custard will thicken as it heats. It won’t take long. As soon as it’s thick, better to err on not-quite rather than scrambled, strain through a fine mesh strainer into a clean bowl, or a large-enough measuring cup. I should tell you to cool and chill overnight before freezing. Whatever. Cool slightly and then pour into whatever sort of mould that you want to use. If you use a flexible mould make sure you place it on a tray before filling. (Duh, but I’ve done it). Now into your freezer, don’t mind the wafts of steam that are coming from the fudgesicles-to-be. Be patient. If you haven’t used proper moulds you will need to insert some sort of stick into your fudgesicles when they’re semi-frozen – set enough to hold the stick upright but not so frozen solid that you need to chisel in a stick. Are they ready now? Have you tried one yet? Are you freaking?

Chocolate-y Cold

Chocolate-y Cold

* Colé is my husband Michael’s sister, Nicole. His other sister is Marina, or Meenie. She’s also my favourite sister. I have another favourite sister named Cheryl, she will love these because she loves ice cream more than anyone I’ve ever met.

8 Responses to “Freaking! Fudgesicles!”

  1. cour t e nay said

    Omg I can’t wait to come over and pop 3 or 4 in my mouth.

  2. Julie said

    I licked my screen. Twice. I want it now.

  3. Cheryl said

    I haven’t tried these yet, but I will. Yes, I really do love ice cream more than anyone; maybe I might be the piggish sort too!

  4. katie said

    freaking!

  5. Holly said

    Oh my. Need. Some. Now.

  6. Julie said

    They are even better than they look… and definitely tastier than my screen. MMMMmmmore please.

  7. Cole said

    The Freaking Fudgesicles are amazing, I can’t stop eating them.
    They are easy to make too!!!

Leave a Reply

