A Superior Seed

July 15, 2009

10 Essentials

Superior Seeds

Hemp is the avocado, avocadillac, if you will, of seeds – they are creamy and rich and seem decadent. They are, however, terrifically good for you. They contain omega-3’s and 6’s – high quality fats, vitamins, chlorophyll, antioxidants, fiber and amino acids. In fact, hemp contains all 10 essential amino acids, so it is one of the best sources of protein you can treat yourself to. Essential amino acids are not produced by the body and must be gained through nutrition. Hemp is instrumental in fat metabolism, which means it is capable of facilitating body fat loss. Uh, hello? Almost everybody wants to lose some body fat. If you’re active you will be pleased to learn that hemp speeds repair of soft-tissue damage and improves endurance. What is not to like? You can sprinkle them into a salad, on your morning cereal, or do as I do and eat seeds straight off of a soup spoon. I think you might thank me for introducing you to this most amazing seed, even those of you who think I’ve completely lost my mind* with exercise and healthy eating.

* Actually, since I’ve been eating well I feel as though I’ve found my mind. Of course, that’s a matter of opinion.

3 Responses to “A Superior Seed”

  1. Rocofit said

    Makes me want to run out and buy hemp seeds! Are you on twitter. Love your blog!

    • dawnegourley said

      Yes, buy some hemp seeds! I checked out your site and I see you’ve added me as a link, I love that. I found you on Twitter.

  2. katie said

    avocadillac….heh heh….

    do you get any sort of buzz from these seeds? will i get the munchies?

    I suspect not…darn…I will try them anyway…

Leave a Reply

