Organization is Everything

July 13, 2009

Bright Idea - Get Organized, Eat Well

Bright Idea - Get Organized, Eat Well

My eating habits have gone a bit sideways lately – lots of dinners out, more chocolate than I should and hot fudge sundaes. I love hot fudge sundaes. For the next two weeks I’m going to be quite strict and eat lots and lots of good, healthy food. It’s easy to eat well this time of year, there’s so much to choose from. The key to healthy eating is organization. You should be able to throw a crudité party with a moment’s notice. The first thing to do is to clean out your fridge – get rid of the bagged swamp experiment lurking in the back of your crisper drawer. And toss out those murky condiment bottles, you are not going to finish up of the rest of that sticky Asian sauce that was best before 2002. Be ruthless and honest. I have to tell you, I didn’t make up the swamp experiment and murky condiments, they were actually in my fridge. Ugh. The next thing to do is to go to your local market or produce stand and load up on fresh fruits and vegetables. Go to a farmer’s market and buy produce from the person who grew it. Pick out all of your favourites and try some things you’ve never had before, it keeps things interesting. Buy a baby fennel bulb. Pick out a variety of apples, my favourite is Pink Lady. In season, you can find striped and rainbow beets, chard, carrots and radishes. Throw a bunch of mustard greens into your basket, and greens you’ve never seen or heard of before. They are (almost) as delicious as a sundae. Treat yourself to some cherries and berries. Lemons and limes add delightful pucker to almost everything. Fresh herbs make for lively additions in salads and cooked dishes. And mushrooms – there is such a variety. What about jicama? I think if an apple was going to be a vegetable it would be jicama. Well, you get the idea, I could go on. Maybe I have. Once you’re home, wash everything but the berries, and prep what you can. Carrots are great peeled and stored in a container in water. Celery is best with its stalks pulled apart, not cut, because that will oxidize them. Spin torn lettuce leaves almost dry and wrap in a clean tea towel and store in a container. Sprout some grains and legumes, slow roast a panful of tomatoes. Have some hemp protein and boiled eggs on hand for quick, portable protein. Choose green tea in the afternoon for a pick me up. Make delicious hummus, I eat more vegetables when this healthy dip is around. Have nutrition-laden snacks handy so you don’t succumb to poor food choices when you’re hungry. Instead, go for nuts, seeds and unsweetened dried fruit. I always have a snack container with me. When I’m hungry I become impressively irritable and then make irrational decisions that involve sugar and chocolate. Pass the damn nuts.

2 Responses to “Organization is Everything”

  1. katie said

    LOVE the picture…LOVE the post….it’s all true because it’s true…nice work my friend! I’m inspired… I want this picture to be my screen saver!

Leave a Reply

