Remember Chia Pets?

July 8, 2009

White Chia

White Chia Seeds

Do you remember Chia Pets? I didn’t have one, but I remember the commercial and accompanying jingle from early ’80s television. These are the very seeds that you would have planted on your terra cotta ram, and they’re a member of the mint family. They don’t taste minty at all, in fact they don’t taste much like anything to me, though some people say they have a mild, nutty flavour. They are teeny tiny, similar in size to a poppy seed, with a similar crunch. There are white and black chia seeds. I bought white ones because I heard that white ones are extremely nutrient dense. But I don’t know if that’s true since I recently learned that they’re nutritionally equal. These little seeds, black and white, are packed with protein, antioxidants, fiber and minerals. Consider this: 100 grams of chia contains as many omega-3’s as six portions of salmon and as much iron as five cups of fresh spinach. That’s worthy of some !!! When mixed with water, chia forms a gel-like liquid. Chia is capable of absorbing 12 times its weight in water, making it an excellent choice for staying hydrated. I haven’t tried baking with chia yet, but it’s on my to-do list. You can sprinkle chia on salads, you can sprout chia, you can even simply eat a tablespoon of chia. Chia seeds, as I’ve mentioned, are teeny tiny, and have a tendency to lodge in your teeth. Don’t be surprised if you find a random seed in your mouth long after you’ve eaten them. Try mixing a tablespoon of chia into a cool glass of water, still or sparkling, with a squeeze of citrus and a fresh herb, maybe chia’s cousin mint or a sprig of lavender. It will need five to ten minutes to gel. It’s everything good – refreshing, nutritious and interestingly delicious.

Refreshingly Interesting

Refreshingly Interesting

4 Responses to “Remember Chia Pets?”

  1. Jason said

    Interesting!. I always wanted the special Elvis Chia. The photos are amazing once again.

    • dawnegourley said

      Thanks, Jay. An Elvis Chia would rock. I saw an Obama Chia the other day. Obviously that one rules.

  2. Julie said

    I LOVE your site. What AMAZING photographs! I have a question. I tossed some chia seeds in my yard and they are now growing. Are the leaves edible?

    Thanks!
    Jules

    • dawnegourley said

      Jules: thank-you so much. I believe chia leaves are edible, but it’s the seeds that are full of nutrition.

Leave a Reply

