Care For a Dip?

June 25, 2009

A Hurried Dip

A Hurried Dip

Hummus – such an easy and great dip for fresh vegetables. I like to sauté my onions and garlic before pureeing everything in my food processor, it sweetens the bite, and somehow makes for a more savoury dip. When there’s hummus in the house I eat more vegetables. I always seem to be in a hurry when I’m craving hummus, so I use canned chick peas instead of taking the time to cook them from dried.

Makes about 2 cups

3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 small yellow onion, chopped

3 cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 teaspoon sea salt, or more to taste

1 tin of chickpeas, drained

3 tablespoons tahini

1 lemon, juiced

1/4 teaspoon sweet or hot smoked paprika*

Heat a medium-sized pan over medium heat. Add one tablespoon of olive oil with chopped onions and sauté for about five minutes. Add garlic and sea salt, and toss pan to combine. Cook for another two minutes. Just so you know, this is called sweating. Often, when writing a recipe, I think the word sweat but invariably use the word sauté, it sounds more appetizing, don’t you think? Sweaty onions. Where was I? Right, set aside sweaty (see?) onions to cool a little. Haul out your food processor and add remaining two tablespoons of olive oil, chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, paprika, and slightly cooled onions and garlic. Whir together for a few moments, you will probably need to scrape down the bowl. Whir again. If your hummus is impossibly thick, drizzle in some extra olive oil. Taste. Season – you might like to add another pinch of sea salt, or an extra sprinkle of paprika, another squeeze of lemon, or some more olive oil. I like my hummus on the creamy side, so I process for another few moments and, if you must know, add another glug of olive oil. Don’t judge me, I like fat. Then, to finish, I pour a drizzle of pretty pumpkin seed oil on top and a tiny sifting of paprika.

* This brand of paprika offers three types – sweet, medium, and hot. Go get some, you will find lots of uses for it.

This is the smoked paprika that I love

4 Responses to “Care For a Dip?”

  1. katie said

    My new favourite! So healthy! So delicious! So fast!

  2. Carrie said

    So, I’m not a big hummus fan but I thought I would give this recipe a try anyways. WOW, my new favorite snack with veggies, so easy to make and so flavorful 🙂 Just LOVE IT

  3. Holly said

    Mmmmm, sweaty oninons. My fave!

  4. Holly said

    Dawne, this is sooo delicious and so easy to make! It is the best hummus I’ve ever had (which goes along with the best pork roast and best carrot soup I’ve ever had1) Thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

