Sea Food

February 8, 2011

 

Salmon and Kelp

My lovely friend Rosemary is the Chief Development Officer for the BC SPCA. She has an unrestrained, whole-hearted love for all animals and she inspires me. Recently, she has been persuing a vegan lifestyle, a better-for-her way of eating. She told me a few months ago about Organic Lives in Vancouver and recommended that I try their kelp noodles. It took me a while, but I did. And they’re great. Incredibly crisp. Noodles from the sea! They went perfectly with this delicate salmon stew recipe that I lifted from the venerable¬†cannelle et vanille.

Serves 4

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 leeks, trimmed and slice, pale green parts only

1 baseball-sized celeriac, trimmed, peeled and diced

1 fennel bulb, diced – save some pretty fennel fronds for garnish if you like

1 cup of vegetable stock

1 tin of coconut milk

12 ounces salmon, skin removed and cut into 1″ cubes

1 package of kelp noodles, rinsed

sea salt

Heat olive oil in a large sauce pan over medium heat and add leeks. Sweat for two minutes and add celeriac, fennel and vegetable stock. Lower heat and simmer until vegetables are just tender. Pour in coconut milk and stir to combine. Add salmon and gently poach until almost cooked through and then add the kelp noodles. Heat, season with sea salt and serve with bits of frilly fennel.

3 Responses to “Sea Food”

  1. jevanshead said

    Yum!

    Beautiful imagery as always Dawne-O

  2. Rosemary said

    I am touched. Thanks for the kind words, Dawne. See you tomorrow night.

  3. Amy said

    Hi Dawne, I’m researching a story and would love to talk to you about homemade tofu, but I can’t figure out how to email people from blogs! Can you please contact me through my web site (click on link above, my web site is listed at my blog, my email is at my web site). Hope to hear from you. Cheers, AR.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

