Planet Paleo

January 20, 2011

Nippon: Land of the Rising Sun

Well, hello. What’s new with you? I feel as though we have a lot of conversations to catch up on. I guess we’ll just pick up from where we left off. I hope you’re well. I am. Last week Jen G. and I started a 30-day Paleo challenge. Maybe you’ve heard of Paleo, maybe you haven’t. Essentially, as you might have guessed, it’s kind of a caveman-like approach to nutrition. Lots of protein, vegetables and some fruit. No grains. I don’t particularly agree with the no grains because some are healthy and I love lentils. But for 30 days I can avoid. And I love coffee so I’m continuing to drink coffee, I’m too evolved not to. Maybe people of the Paleolithic Era had espresso machines in their caves and cafes on every corner. My timing for this challenge is not good because right smack dab in the middle of it Michael and I are going to Tokyo. We leave tomorrow morning. But no mattter. I am perfectly happy to have eaten well for a week, have a complete and utter ramen-and-Pierre-Hermé-macaron-filled-interruption and then return from planet Tokyo to planet Paleo. I think it will be easy to because I feel so freakishly good right now. I have started taking a teaspoon of lemony-flavoured fish oil (it doesn’t taste fishy AT ALL) and a daily single drop of vitamin D sun.

I’m all or nothing. Eating well or eating like crap. Blogging all the time or not at all. I like me best when I’m eating well and blogging about it. And it’s difficult to convey just how much I love Crossfit. I love it. And I fear it. Congratulations on the new gym Jenika!

5 Responses to “Planet Paleo”

  1. jevanshead said

    Hurray! So good to have your freakishly good self back. Have a great time in Japan.

    xo
    J

  2. Miya said

    Dawne, good on ya for giving Paleo a go!
    Glad to see you are back blogging =)
    Hope you and Mike have an excellent time in Tokyo – have an extra macaroon for me!

    xoxo
    Miya

  3. Cole Ole said

    WOOT WOOT You are back….I too am all or nothing. I am excited about looking at your blog again. Have a great time in Tokyo. Love Cole Ole

  4. Susan said

    Glad to see that you are back. All the best with your new adventures!

  5. Jen said

    Paleo-riffic Dawne! So glad you’re back and taking your daily dose of Asian Family. When you return from Japan, we’ll be in the new digs at CrossFit!
    Thanks for keeping me motivated. It feels great xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

